Our story began in 1914 with eight students attending classes in a church hall in Brighton.

Since then we have grown, moved, innovated, changed and developed to become what we are today – Bayside’s leading independent, truly coeducational school.

We have come a long way since that first day, but the last 100 years are just the beginning. Our story continues to unfold today, as each day over 1400 boys and girls from Early Learning to year 12 pass through our gates to learn, discover, play and grow. Every student, every parent and every staff member is part of that story, building on the past and contributing to the future of our school.

We are proud of our rich history and the heritage created by those who have gone before us, and we look to the future with hope and confidence.

1914
1914

Miss Rebecca Cullen establishes a private school at St Leonard's Church Hall with eight enrolled students on the first day

1930
1930

Enrolments grow to 117 requiring the school to move to a larger property in Were Street, Brighton

1937
1937

Miss Florence Munro becomes Headmistress

1950
1950

Miss Thelma Woolhouse appointed Headmistress.

1955
1955

With enrolments reaching 600 the school moves to its current home in South Road, Brighton East

1970
1970

Mr Richard Cornish appointed as the College's first Headmaster

1972
1972

Coeducation introduced with enrolments opening to boys, and the school is renamed St Leonard's College

1982
1982

International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme introduced

1987
1987

Cornish Campus opens in Patterson River

1990
1990

Dr Timothy Hawkes appointed Principal

1999
1999

Dr Norman Fary appointed Principal

2000
2000

Dr Roger Hayward appointed Principal

2006
2006

International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme introduced in our Junior School

2010
2010

Mr Stuart Davis appointed Principal

2011
2011

Cornish Campus closed and sold to the Uniting Church to operate as an independent school, Cornish College

2014
2014

St Leonard's College celebrates its Centenary