Our College Council is charged with the responsibility of applying the highest standards of corporate governance, as well as for ensuring our ongoing viability.


Members: Alistair Jack, Kate Eriksson, Paul Gower (Vice), Cameron Frazer (Chair of Building & Property Committee, OC1986), Ken Lark (Chair of the Succession & Board Development Committee), Steve Evans, Penny Burns (Chair of the Finance, Risk, Audit, Compliance Committee), Melissa Marcus, Kim Visek-Johnson, Jennifer Neate (Chair, Chair of the Foundation), Daryl Inns.

Role of the College Council

Function of the Council

The St Leonard’s College Council is constituted by a board of directors (known as the Council) and is responsible for the setting of strategic goals consistent with the vision, values and mission statement of the College.

The Council’s overarching duty is to ensure the highest standards of corporate governance prevail in all aspects of the College’s operation, from strategic planning to daily activities, and to oversee and maintain the long term viability of the College as a provider of the highest standard of coeducational primary and secondary education. The Council’s responsibilities include:

  • Appointing the Principal
  • Evaluating the performance of the Principal
  • Setting the annual financial budget of the College
  • Determining the long term financial and operational strategy of the College
  • Setting the level of fees each year
  • Planning buildings and equipment according to the needs of the College
  • Determining the Terms of Business of the College
  • Approving fundamental policies to apply throughout the College
  • Ensuring that adequate systems of internal control are in place to manage the financial transactions of the College
  • Reviewing risk management and mitigation procedures of the College
  • Reviewing regulatory compliance


Legal Entity

The College is a registered Company limited by Guarantee.

Appointment of Directors (Council members)

The Council consists of at least nine and up to 12 members. The Council endeavours to ensure that at least half of the Council members are drawn from parents (or guardians) of current or past students of the College. The Principal, Deputy Principal and Finance Manager are not members of Council, but attend meetings of Council in their capacity as the Executive Officers of the College.

Candidates for the Council are selected according to criteria including their particular professional expertise and experience, the current mix of skills already available from current members, their interest in the overall long term development of the College and their personal involvement with the College. Potential Council members may indicate their interest to the Council either directly or in response to a call for expressions of interest.

Members of Council give freely of their time and do not receive any remuneration. Most are current or past parents and/or alumni of the College.

Committee meetings

The Council meets each month except for December and January and at other times as required. Committees meet regularly. The Council establishes the following committees of Council to carry out detailed tasks and report the results to Council for its approval:

  • Chair’s Committee (Chair, the Deputy Chairs, the Principal and the Deputy Principal): Day to day communication with the Principal, determines the agenda of Council meetings and provides a sounding board to the Principal on key issues.
  • Finance, Risk, Audit and Compliance Committee (Members of Council, the Principal, Deputy Principal and Finance Manager): Reviews the financial performance of the College against budgets and forecasts on a monthly basis, develops recommendations to the Council on finance matters, reviews the Statutory Compliance and Risk Management programs of the College and acts as the main interface with the College’s external auditor.
  • Succession and Board Development Committee (Members of Council): Reviews the skill and experience needs of the Council, manages the succession planning for the Council, interviews potential new members of Council and makes recommendations to Council as to membership of the Council. Coordinates professional learning and the board appraisal process.
  • Building and Property Committee (Members of Council and the Principal, Facilities Manager, Finance Manager, Director of Academic Development, Director of Technology Innovation): Considers the needs of the College for physical facilities, reviews all major capital expenditure proposals, reviews the progress of all building projects and advises Council on these projects.